Jan Sledz
Arbeiten | Lebenslauf | Ausstellungen | Kontakt / Impressum | sledztilp.de
Arbeiten:  Video | sonstige
Video:  1 | 2 | 3 | 4
deutsch
Scenic reading
Videostill
Videostill

Video projection, 6:39 mins, 2003
work in progress

A projection consisting of 42 individual images shows all scenes of James Cameron's film The Terminator simultaneously. Individual scenes have been selected strictly according to their dramatic aspects. The longest scenes are located in the center of the projection, and accordingly, running time reduces gradually towards the edges. After a scene has finished, its frame turns white. Inside this order, I have included some inconsistencies in order to aestheticize the overall impression of the work. This manipulation was intended to heighten excitement and give the work a more sensory appeal.

Each scene is shown in its entire length and accompanied by the original sound-track. As the scenes come to an end, the sound goes silent as well. Interestingly, the end titles are by far the longest part of the entire movie - they remain in the final frame.

The white background of the projection may understood as a  light table, which is used by photographers for viewing and ordering negatives. At the same time it creates a neutral background for the projection.

I am intending to continue this work with material from another film. Terminator 2 would apparently be a possible choice. Also directed by James Cameron, Terminator 2 takes up the futuristic scenario and the attempts at philosophy featured in the previous film only in a rudimentary way. While the ideas of the second part are not particularly new, the visual effects and action elements are much further developed. Almost ten years have passed between the realization of both films.

The continuation of this work should be presented in an exhibition together the first version. Such a presentation would intensify the meaning of the projection: In other works of mine I am usually interested in the filmed image, the photographic image expanded into time. Analogous to this in Scenic reading I am intending to work with the temporal axis of the individual images. in a further version, each individual image of the projection will be stretched to span the amount of time between the releases of both Terminator films.

I have chosen The Terminator as the raw material for my projection, because as an exceptional representative it improved the style of the entire genre.

linie
Videostills
Still 1 Still 2 Still 3 Still 4
Anfang
linie

Jan Sledz
Arbeiten | Lebenslauf | Ausstellungen | Kontakt / Impressum | sledztilp.de
Arbeiten:  Video | sonstige
Video:  1 | 2 | 3 | 4
english
Szenisches Lesen
Videostill
Videostill

Videoprojektion 6:39 min, 2003
work in progress

Auf einer Projektion mit 42 Bildern laufen simultan alle nach streng dramaturgischen Gesichtspunkten ausgewählten Einzelszenen des Films »Terminator« von James Cameron ab. Die längsten Szenen sind in der Mitte der Projektion angeordnet, nach außen hin nimmt ihre Spieldauer ab. Wenn die Szenen ausgespielt sind, wird das Fenster, in dem sie laufen weiß. Innerhalb dieser Anordnung habe ich mir einige Inkonsequenzen vorbehalten, um den Gesamteindruck der Arbeit zu ästhetisieren. Sinn dieser Manipulation war es, einen Spannungsbogen aufzubauen und die Arbeit insgesamt stärker sinnlich erfahrbar zu machen.

Jede Szene wird in ihrer gesamten Länge gezeigt, parallel dazu läuft der Originalton der Darstellungen. Mit dem Ende der einzelnen Szenen verstummt auch der Ton. Kurioserweise ist der Abspann der mit Abstand längste Bestandteil des Films – er bleibt im letzten Fenster stehen.

Der weiße Hintergrund der Projektion kann als Lichttisch gelesen werden, auf dem der Fotograf seines Negative sichtet und ordnet. Gleichzeitig schafft das Weiß eine neutrale Projektionsfläche.

Ich plane, die Arbeit mit einem anderen Film fortzusetzen. Eine mögliche Option wäre »Terminator 2« als Ausgangsmaterial der neuen Arbeit. »Terminator 2« – auch ein Film von James Cameron – nimmt das Zukunftsszenario und die philosophischen Ansätze des Vorgängerfilms nur rudimentär auf. Die Ideen im zweiten Teil sind keine neuen, die visuellen Effekte und Action-Elemente hingegen schon. Zwischen beiden Filmen liegen in etwa zehn Jahre.

Die Fortsetzung meiner Arbeit soll in der Ausstellungssituation gemeinsam mit der ersten gezeigt werden, um die Aussage der Projektion ins Folgende zu verdichten: In anderen Arbeiten von mir interessiert mich das gefilmte Bild, also das Foto in einer zeitlichen Ausdehnung. Analog arbeite ich mit »Szenisches Lesen« an der zeitlichen Tiefenachse der Bilder. Jedes Einzelbild der Projektion wird um die Zeitdauer gestreckt, die zwischen beiden »Terminator«-Filmen liegt.

Als Ausgangsmaterial für die Projektion fiel meine Wahl auf den »Terminator«-Film, weil er als herausragender Vertreter seines Genres stilbildend wurde.

linie
Videostills
Still 1 Still 2 Still 3 Still 4
Anfang
linie